Tackling Indigenous Smoking Technical Advisory Group (TIS TAG)

The Tackling Indigenous Smoking Technical Advisory Group (TIS TAG) was established by the Australian Government Department of Health in January 2020. The group provides technical advice across the TIS program on:

  • matters relating to strategies, priorities, activities and implementation of the program
  • supporting evidence-based knowledge and best practice in tobacco control/population health promotion for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and communities
  • identifying current and emerging risks that could affect the effectiveness of the TIS program, and ways of mitigating these risks
  • any other matters to support the TIS program to meet its goals.

The role of the Group is advisory only. It has no governance or decision-making responsibilities for the TIS program.

TIS TAG meets at least quarterly via teleconference and/or using video-conferencing technology. Face-to-face meetings are held once a year.

The National Best Practice Unit for Tackling Indigenous Smoking (NBPU TIS) provides secretariat support and coordinates all meetings and the distribution of agendas, papers and minutes. Input and advice may also be sought from TIS TAG members outside of scheduled meetings.

Summaries of the meetings are published here:

Find information here about the previous Advisory Group (2016-2019) and Communiques.


Members include representatives from the TIS program components, specialists in Tobacco Control, and experts in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and social and emotional wellbeing. Membership is drawn from across a number of sectors including Community Controlled Health, academia, non-government and government. The Group has a majority Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander membership.


Professor Tom Calma AO (Chair)

National Coordinator, Tackling Indigenous Smoking

Ms Lena Etuk

Cultural and Indigenous Research Centre Australia (CIRCA)

Associate Professor Gillian Gould


Ms Libby Jardine

Cancer Council of Western Australia

Ms Madonna Kennedy

Queensland Health

Ms Raquel Kerdel

Cancer Council (SA) / Quitskills

Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Ltd.

Representative to be advised

Dr Raglan Maddox

Australian National University

Ms Katherine McHugh

Department of Health

Ms Ashley McLachlan-Bent

Department of Health

Mr Shane Mohor

Aboriginal Health Council South Australia (AHCSA)

Mr Rod Reeve

Managing Director, Ninti One Ltd

Professor David Thomas

Head of Tobacco Control Research, Menzies School of Health Research

Associate Professor Penney Upton

University of Canberra

Ms Eileen van Iersel

National Best Practice Unit for Tackling Indigenous Smoking